Suicide Excepted

Suicide Excepted

Cyril Hare / Apr 05, 2020

Suicide Excepted Was the old man s death an accident suicide or cold blooded murder A celebrated classic whodunit that fuses a baffling puzzle a wire taut thriller and a panorama of English life into one ingenious

  • Title: Suicide Excepted
  • Author: Cyril Hare
  • ISBN: 9780486242453
  • Page: 154
  • Format: Paperback
  • Was the old man s death an accident, suicide, or cold blooded murder A celebrated classic whodunit that fuses a baffling puzzle, a wire taut thriller, and a panorama of English life into one ingenious tale, enriched by the author s profound knowledge of English law Culminates in a stunning surprise ending.

    • â Suicide Excepted || Ö PDF Read by ☆ Cyril Hare
      154 Cyril Hare
    • thumbnail Title: â Suicide Excepted || Ö PDF Read by ☆ Cyril Hare
      Posted by:Cyril Hare
      Published :2020-01-14T16:33:53+00:00

    About "Cyril Hare"

      • Cyril Hare

        Cyril Hare was the pseudonymn of Alfred Alexander Gordon Clark who was the third son of Henry Herbert Gordon Clark of Mickleham Hall, a merchant in the wine and spirit trade in the family firm of Matthew Clark Sons.Having spent most of his formative years in the country where he learned to hunt, shoot and fish, he was educated at St Aubyn s, Rottingdean and Rugby, where he won a prize for writing English verse, before reading history at New College, Oxford, where he gained a first class degree.His family tradition indicated a legal career and he was duly called to the bar in 1924 and he joined the firm of famed lawyer Ronald Oliver and went on to practice in the civil and criminal courts in and around London.He was 36 when he began his writing career and he picked his pseudonymn from Hare Court, where he worked, and Cyril Mansions, Battersea, where he lived after he had married Mary Barbara Lawrence in 1933 The couple had one son and two daughters.His first literary endeavours were short, flippant sketches for Punch magazine and he had articles published in the Illustrated London News and The Law Journal His first detective novel, Tenant for Death was published in 1937 and it was called an engaging debut.During the early years of World War II he toured as a judge s marshall and he used his experiences as the basis for his fourth novel Tragedy at Law , which was published in 1942 In that same year he became a civil servant with the Director of Public Prosecutions and in the latter stages of the war he worked in the Ministry of Economic Warfare, where his experiences proved invaluable when writing With a Bare Bodkin in 1946.He was appointed county court judge for Surrey in 1950 and he spent his time between travelling the circuit trying civil cases and writing his detective fiction.In addition to these two strings to his bow, he was a noted public speaker and was often in demand by a wide variety of societies But his workload did curtail his literary output, which was also hampered by the fact that he did not use a typewriter, and his reputation, very good as it is in the field of detective fiction, stands on nine novels and a host of short stories He also wrote a children s book, The Magic Bottle in 1946 and a play, The House of Warbeck in 1955.He has left two enduting characters in Inspector Mallett of Scotland Yard, who featured in three novels, and Francis Pettigrew, an amateur sleuth, who also featured in three novels In addition the two appeared together in two other novels, Tragedy at Law 1942 and He Should Have Died Hereafter 1958.Having suffered from tuberculosis for some time, he died at his home near Boxhill, Surrey on 25 August 1958, aged only 57 After his death Michael Gilbert introduced a fine collection of his short stories entitled The Best Detective Stories of Cyril Hare , in which he paid due tribute to a fellow lawyer and mystery writer.Gerry WolstenholmeJune 2011


    419 Comments

    1. In many Golden Age detective novels the actual plot is feeble and contrived, but one reads them for the crumpets in the library and the footprints on the lawn. Hare, however, is brilliant. This is a delight from start to finish, with a plot both original and excellent. Furthermore, he plays fair and gives you the information you need. I loved this to pieces, and my only complaint is that more Hare needs to be made available as ebooks.


    2. Another amusing mystery by Cyril Hare, though rather odd in two aspects: 1. Inspector Mallett makes a brief appearance at the very beginning and the very end. The "detective" work is done by amateurs, who actually don't do a very good job of it. He shows up at the end and offers the solution. 2. The second twist is this concerns the alleged suicide of an elderly man, and his heirs are doing their utmost to prove that he was murdered. Haven't run across that before. An elderly man strikes up a co [...]



    3. Cyril Hare was the pseudonym of Alfred Alexander Gordon Clark who was an Engligh judge and crime writer. He chose his pen name as a mixture of Hare Court, where he worked in Roland Oliver's chambers, and Cyril Mansions, Battersea, where he made his home after marriage. His novels featured two main investigators, Francis Pettigrew--who was a barrister--and Inspector Mallett--a large police office with a huge appetite. He wrote nine detective novels which were published from 1937 to 1958. Suicide [...]


    4. A tale of amateur detectives."Cyril Hare" was an English lawyer who wrote nine book-length mysteries and some short stories that were collected after his death in 1959. Although writing was never his primary occupation, his books are professional and notable for their wry humor and their quirky characters. TRAGEDY AT LAW is considered his best, but I think this one is a fascinating look at how sudden death affects a family and what happens when the cause of that death is uncertain.In Hare's book [...]


    5. The economy of An English Murder was needed here in the telling of this story. While the layout of the situation and was unique, it languished in the overwhelming pile of dialogue and dimwitted characters. So, while I found the overall plot a great idea, I found the telling of the story- long winded.


    6. Insurance PickleThis is the third Inspector Mallet, but the second one I have read. I thoroughly enjoyed the first one and am hoping for the same with this one. Inspector Mallet was in from the beginning in this case, although not in a professional capacity. Mr Dickson died. Was it an accident or suicide? All the evidence points to suicide, but his adult children, Stephen and Anne don’t believe it. Stephen, in the first instance, because he wants the insurance money, whereas Anne doesn’t bel [...]


    7. Quest for a Christie-like: Cyril Hare edition.This is really a 2.5. I'll give it the extra half because I think some folks will have a better experience with it than I did.As a later contemporary of Christie, Hare isn't very well-known or celebrated. However, I had read from the people-that-know, that this was his best. Stung a bit from my tendency to save the best for last, I pounced upon this one. What followed was a slog.First of all, Hare's style here lacks the brevity of Christie or Marsh. [...]


    8. Fans of John Dickson Carr and Agatha Christie will very much enjoy this Cryil Hare. His books, the ones I've read so far, lack the atmosphere of the former and the humor of the latter, but they more than make up for both with their fairplay, reasoning, and straightforwardness.If that sounds a little dry, maybe that reflects the workmanlike quality of these well-written stories. That's a good thing for those looking for a good puzzle in which to escape.But speaking of those masters of mystery sup [...]


    9. Inspector Mallett's stay at the country house hotel of Pendlebury Old Hall has been a disappointment. Room, food & service have been a letdown & he eagerly anticipates the end of his holiday. His last trial is to sit & listen as the hotel boor, whose family once owned the house, sits down at his table. The next day the man is dead & Mallett unwittingly finds himself investigating the suspicious 'suicide'.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Read this quite a while ago - kind of liked [...]


    10. If you like a good old-fashioned murder mystery in the style of Agatha Christie/Ngaio Marsh, you'll enjoy Cyril Hare's 1939 story 'Suicide Excepted'. A strange title maybe, but it's a straightforward tale (with the usual twists of course) involving an apparent suicide, family squabbles and an assortment of characters, some likeable, some not. It moves steadily towards its conclusion and keeps you engaged even if you guess the outcome. While it may lack the atmosphere and intrigue of a Christie, [...]


    11. Although it’s marked as “an Inspector Mallet mystery” he’s virtually absent. In at the beginning and in at the end and that’s about it. The detective work is largely done by amateurs (and as their solicitor points out, pretty ham-handedly). But just when you’re convinced the answer’s been handed to you—only a few pages left, after all—Hare twists your head around 180° and shows you that you’d missed the boat completely. A very good read.


    12. I've liked all the Cyril Hare books so far--they are Agatha Christie-type mysteries with less creativity but with (mostly) real characters behaving normally. A little like Ngaio Marsh. This one is not my favorite--the characters are so real that a number of them are positively annoying, and they slow the book down. Excellent and terse lawyers and detective, though.


    13. Good solid mystery fun. Well-plotted enough to keep it interesting. Well-written enough to not get in the way of the plot. Recommended.




    Leave a Reply